Do I need to have a background in business (studies or work) to register?

NO. This Summer School is designed to address a wide audience (students, executives, professionals, etc.) and does not require any prior specific knowledge in business.

Do I need to have a basic knowledge of French to register?

NO. On the first day of the program, you will take a written and oral placement test that will determine the level you are at. Depending on registration, four (4) levels will be offered:

Whichever level you are placed in, the entire program will be focusing on the 4 language skills: writing, reading, listening and speaking.

The skills and themes that will be covered will all fall in line with the French-speaking world of business.

Will I earn university credits by attending this Summer School?

YES/MAYBE

  • Credits obtained through HEC Montréal for students officially registered in a full-time study program at HEC Montréal (3 credits).
  • For the other participants, the transfer of credits or ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) will be subject to approbation of their university of origin if they still hold a student status. These participants are required to get in touch with their university of origin to find out the procedures for the possible transfer of credits
  • All participants will be awarded a Course Certificate at the end of the Summer School.
Is the teaching material included in the tuition fees?

YES, all the teaching material is included (textbook, exercise book and/or CD). This material will be given to you at the outset of the program (Day 2.)

However, you are expected to provide your own:

  • bilingual dictionary of your choice (French / your language of origin)
  • unilingual French dictionary (Le Robert Micro – ISBN: 978-2-84902-470-6), if you were placed in Level 3. Depending on your placement test on Day 1 of the program, you will be able to purchase this dictionary on site at HEC Montréal bookstore, called COOP (± $ 20 CA)
  • notebook / loose leaf paper / pens / pencils, etc.
Do I need to bring my laptop / tablet with me?

YES/NO: The use of a laptop / tablet is not required. This depends on your work habits. If you do bring your laptop / tablet with you, you will have access in the HEC Montréal buildings to high speed wireless network and to more than 11,000 network connections.

What is the cost of living in Montreal?

The cost of living in Montreal is slightly less high than in other cities of similar size throughout North America and Europe.

Prices in Canadian dollars – Currency converter

Food

HEC Montréal Cafeteria:

  • Breakfast: ± $ 3,50
  • Lunch: ± $ 9 (soup, daily special, dessert, drink) – Daily special only : ± $ 6

Grocery Shopping

  • ± $ 100 / week

Dining Out

  • Lunch time Tables d’hôte (Full-meal deal): (Daily special: 3 dishes – Coffee often included): between $ 11 $ and $ 18 – Usually slightly more expensive in the evening

Transportation

  • Weekly Métro (Subway) / bus pass: OPUS Card (± $ 15 payable once; cash only) – Weekly Pass (regular fare): ± $ 24 (unlimited fares – From Monday to Sunday)STM* Website (*Société de transport de Montréal)
  • BIXI : Bike-sharing Service
    Available 24 / 7 from May to November. To use this service, you have a choice of yearly, monthly or daily bike rental. There are many docking stations conveniently located throughout the island of Montreal. Four BIXI docking stations can be found on HEC Montréal campus.Costs (taxes included): ± $ 30 for 30 days – $ 5 for 24 hours
  • Parking
    Even though public transportation, biking or just walking are the most eco-friendly ways to get to HEC Montréal, indoor parking is available in HEC Montréal Côte-Sainte-Catherine Building (where the French Business Summer School is located), with a capacity of 450 vehicles.Costs: $ 3 for 30 minutes – $ 15 maximum per day – $ 12 maximum after 5:00 pm on week-days – $ 12 maximum on Saturdays and Sundays
  • Taxis
    Taking a taxi in Montreal is safe and affordable!
    Taxi Co-op: 514 725-9885
    Taxi Diamond: 514 273-6331
    Taxi Atlas: 514 485-8585
What is the weather like in Montreal in August?

Summer time weather in Montreal is generally quite pleasant, with average temperatures of 21 °C. Like anywhere, Montreal is subject to heat waves where humidity can rise dramatically. Be sure to bring the appropriate clothes.

For those of you who enjoy swimming: The great majority of the pools throughout the city are free. Don’t forget your swimming attire…

Do I need a visa to come to Canada?

YES/NO

Depending on your country of origin, you may be required to obtain a Visitor’s Visa in order to enroll in a study program in Canada for a period of less than six (6) months.

Be sure to check with Citizenship and Immigration Canada whether or not you will be required to obtain a Visitor’s Visa.

Upon full completion of your registration in the HEC Montréal Business French Summer School (payment in full), all official documents pertaining to your registration will be sent to you in order that you may proceed with your application for a visa, if required.

Do I require travel insurance?

YES/NO

YES, it is MANDATORY for all international participants to acquire travel insurance covering medical, hospital and evacuation expenses to one’s country of origin in case of medical emergency. This travel insurance, covering the Summer School period (21 days), will be automatically included in your online registration. The cost is $ 167 CA per person.

NO: Canadian or Permanent Residents of Canada born outside the Province of Quebec must verify the reimbursement procedures with their Provincial healthcare system should an emergency occur during their stay in Montreal. For a greater piece of mind, it is always possible to acquire additional travel insurance.

Top

Faut-il faire ou avoir fait des études en commerce / gestion pour s’inscrire?

NON. Cette École d’été s’adresse à un public très large (étudiants, cadres, professionnels, etc.) et ne nécessite pas de connaissances particulières dans le domaine des affaires.

Faut-il avoir une connaissance de base en français pour s’inscrire?

NON. Lors de la première journée du programme, vous passerez un test de classement (écrit et oral) qui déterminera votre niveau. Selon le nombre d’inscriptions, quatre (4) niveaux seront offerts :

Quel que soit le niveau où vous serez classé, la formation s’articulera autour des 4 compétences langagières : écrire, lire, écouter, parler.

Les compétences et les thèmes développés seront tous en lien avec le monde francophone des affaires.

L’École d’été en français des affaires donne-t-elle droit à des crédits universitaires?

OUI/PEUT-ÊTRE

  • Crédits attribués par HEC Montréal pour les étudiants inscrits dans un programme d’études à temps plein à HEC Montréal (3 crédits).
  • Pour les autres participants, le transfert des crédits ou des ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) est sujet à l’approbation de l’établissement d’origine des participants s’ils sont encore aux études. Les participants concernés doivent faire eux-mêmes les démarches auprès de leur établissement d’enseignement pour connaître les modalités d’approbation.
  • Tous les participants recevront à la fin de l’École d’été une attestation de formation.
Le matériel pédagogique est-il inclus dans les frais de scolarité?

OUI, tout le matériel pédagogique est inclus (livre, cahier d’exercices et/ou CD). Ce matériel vous sera remis au début du programme (Jour 2).

Vous aurez, par contre, à avoir avec vous :

  • dictionnaire bilingue de votre choix (vers le français)
  • dictionnaire unilingue français (Le Robert Micro – ISBN : 978-2-84902-470-6), si vous êtes classé au Niveau 3. Suivant votre classement lors de la première journée du programme, vous pourrez acheter ce dictionnaire sur place à la COOP de HEC Montréal (± 20 $ CAD)
  • cahier / feuilles libres / crayons / stylos, etc.
Faut-il apporter son ordinateur personnel ou sa tablette électronique?

OUI/NON : l’utilisation et l’apport d’un ordinateur ou d’une tablette électronique n’est pas obligatoire. Ceci relève plutôt de vos habitudes de travail. Si vous apportez votre ordinateur personnel ou votre tablette, sachez que HEC Montréal est équipé d’un réseau sans fil à haut débit et de plus de 11 000 prises réseau.

Quel est le coût de la vie à Montréal?

Montréal est une métropole où le coût de la vie est un peu moins élevé que dans d’autres villes de taille comparable tant en Amérique du Nord qu’en Europe.

Prix en dollars canadiens – Convertisseur de devises

Alimentation

À la cafétéria de HEC Montréal :

  • Petit-déjeuner : ± 3,50 $
  • Repas du midi : ± 9 $ (soupe, plat du jour, dessert, breuvage) – Plat du jour seul : ± 6 $

Épicerie en supermarché

  • ± 100 $ / semaine

Restaurants en ville

  • Tables d’hôte à midi (Menu du jour : 3 plats – café souvent inclus) : entre 11 $ et 18 $ – En général un peu plus cher en soirée

Transport

  • Passe de métro/bus hebdomadaire : Carte OPUS (± 15 $ payable une seule fois; argent comptant seulement) – Passe hebdomadaire (tarif régulier) : ± 24 $ (passages illimités – Du lundi au dimanche)Site web de la STM (Société de transport de Montréal)
  • BIXI : système de vélos libre-service
    Disponible 24 heures par jour, sept jours sur sept, de mai à novembre. Pour avoir accès au service, il suffit d’effectuer un abonnement annuel, mensuel ou de 24 heures. De nombreux terminaux de service sont disponibles un peu partout à Montréal. Quatre stations BIXI se trouvent sur le campus de HEC Montréal.Coûts (taxes incluses) : ± 30 $ pour 30 jours – 5 $ pour 24 heures
  • Stationnement
    Bien que le transport en commun, le vélo ou la marche soient les moyens les plus écologiques pour vous rendre à HEC Montréal, il existe un stationnement intérieur à l’édifice Côte-Sainte-Catherine (l’École d’été en français des affaires se déroule dans cet édifice) pouvant accueillir 450 véhicules.Coûts : 3 $ par demi-heure – 15 $ maximum par jour – 12 $ maximum après 17 h sur semaine – 12 $ maximum le samedi et le dimanche
  • Taxis
    Prendre un taxi à Montréal, c’est sécuritaire et abordable!
    Taxi Co-op : 514 725-9885
    Taxi Diamond : 514 273-6331
    Taxi Atlas : 514 485-8585
Quelle température fait-il à Montréal au mois d’août?

Il fait en général un temps très agréable au mois d’août à Montréal, avec une moyenne de 21 °C. Il peut y avoir cependant parfois des périodes de canicule où la température peut augmenter de façon très importante avec un très fort facteur d’humidité. Apporter des vêtements en conséquence.

À tous les amateurs de natation : la très grande majorité des piscines municipales sont gratuites. Un maillot de bain s’impose donc…

Faut-il un visa pour venir au Canada?

OUI/NON

Selon votre pays d’origine, vous devrez peut-être faire une demande de visa de visiteur pour suivre un programme d’études au Canada d’une durée inférieure à six (6) mois.

Vérifiez si vous avez besoin d’un visa de visiteur auprès des services de « Citoyenneté et immigration Canada ».

Une fois votre inscription à l’École d’été en français des affaires finalisée (paiement complet effectué), tous les documents officiels relatifs à votre inscription vous seront envoyés de façon à ce que vous puissiez faire vos démarches d’obtention de visa le cas échéant.

Une assurance voyage est-elle indispensable?

OUI/NON

OUI, il est OBLIGATOIRE pour chaque participant international de se procurer une assurance voyage couvrant les frais de maladie, d’hospitalisation et de rapatriement en cas d’urgence médicale. Cette assurance voyage, couvrant la période de l’École d’été (30 jours), sera automatiquement ajoutée et facturée lors de l’inscription en ligne. Le montant est de 167 $ CA par personne.

NON : les participants canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada nés à l’extérieur de la province de Québec doivent impérativement vérifier les modalités d’application de leur régime d’assurance maladie de leur province d’origine, incluant les modalités de remboursement par leur province d’origine. Pour une plus grande tranquillité d’esprit, il est toujours possible de souscrire une assurance voyage supplémentaire.

Haut de la page